Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Book Review - I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

ABOUT THE BOOK


Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

Advance praise for I Wish You Were Mine

“A smart, sexy, and absolutely irresistible read!”USA Today bestselling author Mira Lyn Kelly

I Wish You Were Mine is a sizzling-loud friends-to-lovers story with a unique twist of my-sister’s-ex-husband. A hot and sexy read with a strong bond of friendship make this a book you don’t want to miss.”—Keri Ford, author of the Turtle Pine series

REVIEW


I loved Jackson and Molly's story. It is an interesting twist on an unrequited love story. Molly has been in love with her Sister's ex-husband since before her sister married him. Jackson has always looked at Molly as the sister that was easier to relate to. After the divorce, Jackson and Molly remained friends and become roommates, but now that Jackson is beginning to see Molly as something more that the sister of his ex, things start getting increasingly complicated.

I really enjoyed this story. The character are so easy to like. Molly is just enough nerdy to be awkward, but still cute. Jackson is the opposite of nerdy, but seeing the big bad football player feeling insecure made it easy to relate to his vulnerability. 


I have always enjoyed Layne's writing, but I feel like it gets better and better with each book. I recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Lauren Layne and anyone who loves a smart and well written romance.


OVERALL RATING - 5 STARS!
MATURITY RATING - 18+ a little steamy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. A year after moving from Seattle to Manhattan to pursue a writing career, she had a fabulous agent and multiple New York publishing deals. 

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and plus-sized Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll likely find her running (rarely), reading (sometimes), or at happy hour (often).