Thursday, December 17, 2015

Book Review - The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

ABOUT THE BOOK


For anyone who has ever geeked out about something and for fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars.
Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. She is unemployed, broke, and on her last bowl of ramen. But that's all about to change. 

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she's offered a job. A job that she's woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

REVIEW

This books biggest strength is the humor and the characters.  While it is a bit weaker in actual story, I wanted to keep reading because as a nerdy girl myself, I couldn't help but laugh out loud constantly.  Wirestone does a remarkable job creating characters that are memorable and charming and succeeds in the difficult job of consistently writing humor.  This is a true romantic comedy, and if you are looking for an off-beat romantic comedy, I highly recommend this book.


OVERALL RATING - 4.5 STARS!
MATURITY RATING - 18+ a little steamy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Max is a graduate from the Alabama School of Mathematics and Science and has a degree in English from Washington University in St. Louis. Max spent his twenties as a librarian-nomad, crossing the United States, and shelving (and reading) a lot of books along the way.

After moving to New England, Max became the director of a small-town library, where he could unite his love of books, mysteries, and geekery. Since then, he’s taught a lot of small children how to dust for fingerprints, helped teens and tweens build competitive Lego Mindstorm robots, and has become his town’s definitive source on how to correctly pronounce character names in Game of Thrones.

Max cleverly married an editor, and his husband have a 4-year-old son. They live in a 135-year-old house, which is filled with toys, games, and blasts of cold air.

Currently, Max is busy working on Dahlia Moss’s next adventure. That, or he’s just playing Hearthstone.